This is the "Research Tools" page of the "SOC 4500 Library Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

SOC 4500 Library Research Guide  

Sociology 4500, Global Issues in Sociology, Dr. Shobha Gurung
Last Updated: Oct 3, 2012 URL: http://libguides.suu.edu/SOC4500 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Research Tools Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Research Tools

Off-campus access
All library databases are accessible from off-campus. After you click on a database you will be prompted to select your Department (choose Student unless you are a SUU employee, then choose your academic department), then enter your SUU username and password:


NetStorage
From off campus, login to NetStorage, http://netstorage.suu.edu, with your SUU username and password, to access your saved files on the F: drive.

MySUU
In MySUU choose the Library and Research portlet.


Full Text Journal Finder
If you know the title of a journal or magazine, you can check to see if the library has the print subscription or if it's available in an online database. From the library homepage, click Full Text Journal Finder and type the title of the journal.


This example shows you the results when you search for American Sociological Review:


  1. Click on JSTOR to locate online articles from 1936 to 2008.
  2. Click SocINDEX with Full Text to search for articles from 1936 to 1 year ago.
  3. Click EBSCOhost EJS to locate online articles from 2003 to present.
  4. SUU Print Journals are located in the Journals area on the 1st Floor. Note that the most current issues will only be available for this journal in the First Floor Journals stacks.

ILLiad – InterLibrary Loan
Use ILLiad to request articles that indicate they are not available after searching the Full Text Journal Finder.


 

ASA Style Guides

ASA Style Guide

American Sociological Association. 1997. ASA Style Guide. 2nd ed. Washington, D.C.: American Sociological Association. (call number HM586.A54)

The 2nd edition of the ASA Style Guide, published by the American Sociological Association, is available on Reserve at the Circulation Desk, and in the Reference Collection (call number HM586.A54). ASA recently updated the ASA Style Guide to the 4th edition, and copies will be soon be available in the library.

Additional ASA Style Help:

  • See the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) guide for Formatting in Sociology (ASA Style)
    This online writing lab help page covers American Sociological Association (ASA) style and includes information about manuscript formatting, in-text citations, and formatting the references page.
  • ASA Quick Style Guide 
    This brief guide has ASA citation examples for in-text citations, Reference Lists, books, journal articles, e-resources, and websites.
  • ASA Preparation Checklist for ASA Manuscripts 
    This is the instructions to authors to publish in ASA journals, with up to date examples from the ASA Style Guide (4th ed.).
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip